The Voices

Rigoberta Menchu   Jody Williams   Adolfo Perez Esquivel   Rosalina Tuyuc   Pedro Celestino Yac Noj   María Faviana Cochoy Alva Claudia Samayoa   Javier Payeras   Luz Mendez   Gerardo Guiterrez   Elisa Facio

Rigoberta Menchú Tum

Nobel Peace Laureate Rigoberta Menchú Tum was born in Guatemala to a poor peasant family and spent much of her childhood helping her family farm. As a teenager, she became involved in many activist movements with her family. When parents and her brother were murdered by the Guatemalan army, Rigoberta was forced to go into hiding in1981, but shared her story in the renouned book, “I, Rigoberta Menchú”. She was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1992 for her activism and has worked to create a better life for indiginious Maya ever since.

Jody Williams

Nobel Peace Laureate Nobel Laureate Jody Williams has fought injustice throughout Latin America and continues to do so as the head of the Nobel Women’s Initiative, which has worked to bring an end to femicide in Latin America.

Adolfo Perez Esquivel

Nobel Peace Laureate Adolfo Perez Esquivel was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his struggle for human rights. Perez Esquivel said, on that occasion, he received the Nobel Prize “on behalf of the peoples of Latin America, and in particular the poorest of all those committed to their people.

Rosalina Tuyuc

Rosalina Tuyuc was inspired by the disappearance of two families and the hardships experienced by thousands of indigenous women during the armed conflict to become a Mayan social movement activist and fight for human rights in the country of Guatemala.

María Faviana Cochoy Alva & Pedro Celestino Yac Noj

Mayan Elders Faviana and Pedro belong to the people of Utlatlán, in direct lineage from the Maya Quiché. María Faviana Cochoy Alva & Pedro Celestino Yac Noj are spiritual representatives and “narrators of time”. They are carriers of the ancient message of the holy Maya-calendar including its true meaning for things going on in world.

Claudia Samayoa

Human Rights Attorney Claudia Samayoa has worked to provide services on cases of injustice throughout her home country of Guatemala and provides our film with first head experience.

Javier Payeras

Author Javier Payeras is one of the writers who emerged after the Guatemalan Civil War as part of the so-called postwar generation. From 1998, he joined a emerging movement called Casa Bizarra, a project of young artists from the post-conflict generation. A tireless promoter of culture, he was coordinator of the Festival Octubreazul in 2000, director of the Contemporary Art Foundation Colloquia, and curator of Project Crea.

Luz Mendez

Luz Méndez has been at the fore front of the Unión Nacional de Mujeres Guatemaltecas (UNAMG) since its conception in 1996. In addition to her work with UNAMG, Méndez has been a member of the advisory group of the Independent Experts’ Assessment on Women, War and Peace, a study supported by the UN Development Fund for Women, and a member of the advisory council of the Global Fund for Women. Having pursued higher education in gender studies and business administration, she earned a master’s degree in public administration as a Mason fellow at Harvard University’s John F Kennedy School of Government in 2004. She has also been involved in advocating for the inclusion of women in peace processes around the world.

Dr. Gerardo Guitérrez

Gerardo Gutiérrez has a Ph.D. in Anthropology as has been extensively published in Latin American Studies. He’s a professor at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Dr. Elisa Facio

Elisa Facio is an associate professor in the Department of Ethnic Studies at the University of Colorado, Boulder where she teaches course on Chicana Feminist Thought, Critical Issues on Age, Aging, and Generations, Chicana-Indigena Spiritualities, and Globalization and Transnational issues related to gender, race, and sexuality. Elisa is the recipient of research and teaching awards, including a National Institute of Mental Health fellowship and a National Institute of Aging postdoctoral fellowship. She was also awarded an American Sociological Association Minority Fellowship and the Chicana Dissertation Fellowship at UC Santa Barbara.

Additional Cast

T. David Rutherford (voice)

Fernando Rodas

Jose Basillas

Benjamin Borjes

Anibal Garcia

Sandra Monerroso

José Antonio Otaolaurruchi